## Virginia Board of Education Committee on School and Division Accountability Wednesday, June 22, 2016 1:00 pm

## 22nd Floor Conference Room, James Monroe Building 101 N. 14th Street, Richmond, Virginia

Welcome and Opening Comments Diane Atkinson, Chair

Approval of Minutes of the May 24, 2016, Committee Meeting

Public Comment\*

Virginia School Boards Association (VSBA) Task Force on Workforce Readiness: Summary of Career and Technical Education in Virginia Public Schools Survey Results William S. Kidd, President, VSBA

Dr. Thomas Brewster, Superintendent, Pulaski County Public Schools
(1:15 pm – 1:30 pm)

Discussion by Board of Education Members (1:30 pm – 2:00 pm)

Trends in High School Graduation Requirements Among States with High Postsecondary Success *Dr. Jennifer Piver-Renna, Senior Executive Director for Research* (2:00 pm – 2:15 pm)

Discussion by Board of Education Members (2:15 pm – 2:45 pm)

Break – 15 minutes

Progress Report on the Board of Education's Development of a *Profile of a Virginia Graduate* and Discussion with Board Members

Dr. Cynthia Cave, Assistant Superintendent for Policy and Communications Joseph A. Wharff, School Counseling Specialist Lolita Hall, Director, Career and Technical Education Susan Williams, Director of Policy (3:00 pm – 4:15 pm)

Concluding Remarks and Adjournment *Diane Atkinson, Chair* 

\* The Committee on School and Division Accountability will provide an opportunity for members of the public to address the committee at its meetings, as appropriate, during the public comment portion of the meeting. During the public comment portion of any committee of the Board, the Board requests that members of the public only address the committee on matters on the committee's published agenda and any matters added to the agenda during the meeting by the committee. Requests to address the Board's committee during the public comment portion of the meeting shall include the subject to

be discussed and the name of the speaker. Requests to address the Board's committee during the public comment portion of the meeting should be submitted to the Department of Education (804-225-2924 or Melissa.Luchau@doe.virginia.gov) in advance of the meeting, but may be submitted the day of the meeting, at the discretion of the committee chairperson. In honoring such requests, the committee will limit such comments to three minutes for each speaker at the discretion of the committee chairperson. The committee chairperson may, in his or her discretion, extend the public comment portion of the meeting, allocate the time available for public comment, adjust the order of speakers, or take other reasonable measures to ensure that the committee hears multiple views on any matter presented to the committee. Public comment speakers will be encouraged to provide multiple written copies (11) of their comments or other materials amplifying their views.